We use cookies on this website to improve how it works and how it’s used. Click for more information.

Accept & Continue


The role of the governing board is a strategic one, its key functions are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher (a critical friend).

The headteacher is responsible for the internal organisation, management and control of the school and the implementation of the strategic framework established by the governing board.

St Martins School became part of the Priory School Trust on the 1 September 2016. The Priory School Trust have appointed the 'local governing body' at St Martins School.

Mr T Jones - chair

Mr S Davenport - vice chair

Mr M Barratt - Executive Principal

Mrs A Bowen - Parent Governor

Mrs N Bradley - Teaching and Learning designated governor

Mr D Burgess

Mr B Evans - Parent Governor

Mrs C Hughes - SEN, Pupil Premium, Safeguarding designated governor

Ms S Lovecy - Head of School

Mrs J Manford - Finance and Health and Safety designated governor

Governors can be contacted via the clerk:

Mrs C Ellis

Clerk to the Governors

c/o St Martins School

Moors Bank

St Martins


SY10 7BD